To the list of news

12 Sep 2016
Cyprus will be divided into two time zones

Солнечные часы в Лимассоле

This fall Cyprus will be divided into two zones with different time zones. The TRNC has adopted the change following Turkey’s example.

The official division will take place on the 31st of October. From this day, Cyprus will be divided into the North, which will not switch the time and South (government-controlled areas) where the clocks will be readjusted in accordance with the timetable.

The initiative of the Turkish government is driven by the economical gain, which is estimated at around 1 billion kWh per year.