Cyprus Events

CONCERTO FOR TWO / Cyprus Symphony Orchestra

Wednesday 8 November 8.30pm

Conductor: Nabil Shehata
Soloists: Plotinos Mikromatis (piano)
Alexis Theophylactou (violin)

Rialto Theatre Limassol
Picks up at 6.45pm from the café at Karavella Bus Station in the upper town.
Tickets:  €12 / €7 payable on the door
Bus Reservations: Email: [email protected] at least three days before the concert please.


  • Karvellos: Κhirokitia: Symphonic Poem
  • Mendelssohn: Concerto for piano, violin and strings in D minor, MWV O4
  • Haydn: Symphony no. 104 in D major, Hob.I:104

    The symphonic poem Khirokitia by Cypriot composer Yiorgos Karvellos conjures up an image of this Neolithic settlement recalling primordial memories and historical experience of 9000 years. It is written in a tonal musical idiom in which the composer incorporates and develops rhythmic and melodic elements from the music tradition of our country. Mendelssohn was only 14 years old when he composed his Double Concerto in D minor, which had its first public performance on July 3rd 1823. The work, however, remained unpublished during Mendelssohn’s lifetime and it wasn’t until 1999 that a critical edition of the piece was available. Haydn’s Symphony no. 104, the composer’s last, was written in 1795,while the composer was living in London, and premiered there on May 4th 1795. Haydn wrote in his diary, “The whole company was thoroughly pleased and so was I. I made 4000 guilden on this evening: such a thing is possible only in England.”

    Information: Tel: 22463144,

Place: Rialto
Address: Lemesos, Cyprus (View on the map)
Contact data: 77 777745


  • Concert

Ticket price:

Показать комментарии
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments